top of page

The Darald and Julie Libby Family Youth Concerto Competition

Each year the New Hampshire Philharmonic invites an accomplished New Hampshire student to perform a solo with the orchestra in a regular concert of its subscription season. The Philharmonic does this to celebrate the fine playing ability of New Hampshire students, to provide a compelling musical experience for our audience, and to deliver on our educational mission. 


Accomplished young musicians who are New Hampshire residents are encouraged to submit an application for the competition. 


After review of the applications, a small number of finalists (typically five) is invited to perform for a jury of professional music educators. 


The young musician who is selected by the panel of judges (in extraordinary circumstances, two young musicians are chosen) is then invited to play a solo with the orchestra during the next season of the Philharmonic. 

Previous Winners

2018 - Roric Cunningham, cello

2017 - Sarah Heimberg, trumpet


2015 - Stacie Lin, violin


2013 -   Paul Bergeron, cello, Dover

   Jerry Xiong, violin, Pembroke


2012 -  Jan Fuller, cello, Concord

   Anna Philbrick, viola, Candia

   Isaac Schultz, bassoon, Exeter


2011 -  Anna DeLoi, harp, Plaistow


2010 -  Laurel Gagnon, violin, Hooksett

   Rachel Finlayson, viola, Etna


2009 -  Jacob MacKay, cello, Francestown

   Ryan Hayward, tuba, Rochester


2008 -  Rebecca Haynes, cello, Hanover

  Thomas Philbrick, violin, Candia


2007 -  Abe McWilliams, violin, Durham


2006 -  Tim Gocklin, oboe, Manchester


2005 -  Shelsey Weinstein, cello, Lyme


2004 -  Ellen Flanagan, violin, Hanover


2003 -  Shailey Devito, flute, Derry

bottom of page